Reply: 10 - 49
Mariners_15
January 4, 2024, 3:57pm
Cocktail Drinker
Posts Per Day: 0.31
Rep Score: +17 / -4
Approval: +538
Gold Stars: 1
Did it ever come out as to why he dropped out of the consortium not long before a deal was done? Perhaps he may still have an eye on investing in the future if all goes well with his plan.
Logged Offline
Private Message
Reply: 11 - 49
Poojah
January 4, 2024, 4:26pm
Vodka Drinker
Posts Per Day: 1.25
Rep Score: +76 / -11
Approval: +29,555
Gold Stars: 1,500
I’m trying to work out, based on the below image, where Schutes’ proposed stadium was supposed to be. If I’ve got my bearings correct, it looks like it’s sat on top of the water between Gorton Street and Murray Street.

I’m no engineer, but aside from the cost of the stadium itself, wouldn’t “filling in” that area of the docks be prohibitively expensive? I know Everton have done it at Bramley Moore, but that’s a £500m stadium.

A smooth sea never made a skillful mariner.
Logged Online
Private Message
Reply: 12 - 49
Chrisblor
January 4, 2024, 4:36pm

Elemér Berkessy
Vodka Drinker
Posts Per Day: 1.22
Rep Score: +51 / -20
Approval: +8,843
Gold Stars: 235
Quoted from Poojah
I’m trying to work out, based on the below image, where Schutes’ proposed stadium was supposed to be. If I’ve got my bearings correct, it looks like it’s sat on top of the water between Gorton Street and Murray Street.

I’m no engineer, but aside from the cost of the stadium itself, wouldn’t “filling in” that area of the docks be prohibitively expensive? I know Everton have done it at Bramley Moore, but that’s a £500m stadium.

Yeah I can't remember exactly where it was stated but it definitely involved filling in this part of the dock: