4 Pages Prev 1 2 3 4 All Recommend Thread
Maringer
February 4, 2015, 4:58pm
Barley Wine Drinker
Posts Per Day: 1.87
Rep Score: +60 / -12
Approval: +16,658
Gold Stars: 189
Well, my views are certainly coloured as I also think he's a bit of a dodgy geezer. I've heard one or two stories from people who should be in the know which would indicate he was more than a little bit lucky to get away with it a couple of years ago.

Erm, allegedly.  

As a manager, I think he's OK, but doesn't deserve anywhere near the credit he receives and his record does stand for itself - no great achievements anywhere he's been and, as DHM notes above, he didn't exactly inherit a weak squad at Spurs. I was pretty disgusted by some of the press coverage when he wasn't appointed England manager - some proper hatchet jobs on Hodgson and Redknapp's mates in the press continued to harp on about it for some time, as did 'Arry in his autobiography the other year.
Logged Offline
Private Message
Reply: 30 - 35
Caesar
February 4, 2015, 5:06pm

Fine Wine Drinker
Posts Per Day: 0.26
Rep Score: +12 / -2
Approval: +1,799
Quoted from diehardmariner
On the Bale subject, it was AVB who then gave Bale a more central role which in many eyes cemented as the real deal rather than a bit of a flash-in-the-pan.  Of course, 'Arry tries to take credit for this one too.

He denies it but 'Arry was heavily rumoured to be ready to offload Bale to Birmingham for something like £5million at the height of the hysteria that Bale was a jinx who Spurs couldn't win with in the team.

Credit is due for his time at Spurs where he did play an exciting style of football and it was a joy to watch Spurs give bloody noses to some of Europe's bigger teams.  Nothing quite beats a side just going for it and not worrying about the opposition.  However he took over with Spurs in a ridiculously false position in the bottom 3 and built on the decent base already established by Ramos, he didn't build that team from scratch. Far from it.