Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Fishy Forum Fishy Boards Archive › Why we struggle to compete...
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 200 Guests

Why we struggle to compete...

This thread currently has 4,360 views. Print
4 Pages Prev 1 2 3 4 Next All Recommend Thread
Poojah
April 21, 2023, 12:11pm
Vodka Drinker
Posts Per Day: 1.25
Rep Score: +76 / -11
Approval: +29,669
Gold Stars: 1,508
Quoted from HerveJosse

Compare Leeds with Bradford 10 mikes down the road . When I studied and worked in both 40 years ago the two cities were on a par now one is a booming modern city and the other is a shithole. Local government is part of the reason for the difference but not all both fall within West Yorkshire . The mass exodus of young well educated people capable of developing modern businesses from North East Lincs over the last 30 years is a significant reason for its decline and once the spiral starts it’s difficult to see what stops the decline . Opening up university entry to 50% plus of school leavers had the unintended consequence of shafting places like Grimsby. Lincoln by contrast had the foresight to develop a university which was arguably Mickey Mouse at first but is not quite highly regarded fed and has generated the redevelopment of the City

Bradford gets a bad rap, not entirely without good cause, but like anywhere it has good areas and bad, and the city centre has improved over the course of the last 10 - 15 years. The ethnic diversity of Bradford is actually the product of the textile industry there still thriving, comparatively speaking, in the 50s and 60s when there was a shortage of low-skilled workers in the country, and whatever your views on that, it changed the future dynamic of the city versus neighbouring Leeds.