Print Topic - Archive

Fishy Forum  /  Archive  /  
Posted by: Gainsbro_Mariner, July 10, 2018, 10:18am
Just out of interest? How many original posters are still here from the old Rivals.net site ? I’ve been posting since the 2000-01 season. Still love it as much !
Posted by: GrimRob, July 10, 2018, 10:20am; Reply: 1
Quoted from Gainsbro_Mariner
Just out of interest? How many original posters are still here from the old Rivals.net site ? I’ve been posting since the 2000-01 season. Still love it as much !

If you go even further back there was a forum on the Electronic Fishcake when it was grimsby.org (pre-rivals). Only a handful of people ever posted on there but there were a few!

grimsby.org and electronicfishcake.com incidentally still exist but point to random crap now
Posted by: psgmariner, July 10, 2018, 10:40am; Reply: 2
Joined in 2001 whilst working in Paris (well Disneyland not real Paris). Lurked for a long time before that.

We are very lucky to have such a busy forum.
Posted by: LH, July 10, 2018, 11:39am; Reply: 3
Quoted from GrimRob

grimsby.org and electronicfishcake.com incidentally still exist but point to random crap now

It’s good that we to stick to traditions on here.
Posted by: KingstonMariner, July 10, 2018, 11:45am; Reply: 4
Aye, I remember the pre-Rivals days. There was a point when you could have multiple usernames at the same time. It was positively anarchic at times. There was a spate of invading other clubs boards at one point. People would pile on to say, Palace's board and spam it with nonsense threads.

The old EF also had a big part to play in getting people interested in the idea of a Trust together in those pre-FB and Twitter days.

Much of that rebooting feel has gone. There's more control of content. Some posters have passed on to a better messaging board. The only thing that hasn't changed is Swin.
Posted by: mimma, July 10, 2018, 11:50am; Reply: 5