Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Fishy Forum Fishy Boards Archive › Badly run - on and off the pitch?
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 195 Guests

Badly run - on and off the pitch?

This thread currently has 6,323 views. Print
6 Pages 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next All Recommend Thread
January 7, 2018, 1:05pm
Guest User
Just want to make one thing clear, I do think it’s time for change in the boardroom. John has done his best, of that I have no doubt but his reign has to be judged on the pitch. That is the reason the club exists and performance has been woeful, I think he’s been around the boardroom for about 12 years now. 6 of them in league 2 / div 4, 6 of them in the conference, appalling record.

I’ve had a little look at the clubs accounts, I’m far from an expert so apologies if I’ve got things wrong. But playing devils advocate, and to the boards credit, the club appears to be well run. Debts have been reduced. I’ve tried to have a look at other clubs in the league, Mansfield for example owe £5.8m and appear to be operating well beyond their means. They are reliant on the Radford’s cash injections.

Please feel free to pick my observations apart, but we don’t appear to be badly run off the pitch.

Profit for last season, £1.06m.

Wage bill up over 400k year on year to £2.08m, includes non playing staff.

No investment from JF, taken 200k back.

A quick look at the books suggests the club is living within its means, profit all coming from the player sale, presumably Bogle.

Without that sale, would have broken about even.

I’ve had to make an assumption, a guess as accounts are not broken down into playing / non playing budget.

I’ve assumed of the wages of £2.08m, 70 percent are players wages, so £1.456m divided between a first team squad of 30 (we know they’re not all on the same money) would mean players earn an average net of £48500 per year, or £933 per week.

Not sure we aren’t paying the going rate? Appreciate there are assumptions there.