6 Pages Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next All Recommend Thread
Ipswin
March 31, 2011, 8:26pm
Vodka Drinker
Posts Per Day: 1.10
Rep Score: +44 / -47
Approval: -3,552
Gold Stars: 89
I recall my first ever match on Christmas Day 1958. My uncle, normally a regular in the Barratt, took me but presumably as I was only 7, we sat in the seats at the back of the Osmond. All his mates at the back of the Barratt who he should have been with were on the urine supping from large bottles of whisky and rum while he and I were on tea!

Later I graduated to the boys stand and of course climbed over into the Barratt proper and I remember the rickety stairs at the back of the stand very well - one set wasn't actually connected to the ground at all, it had rotted away about a foot short and was only actually attached to the stand at the top!

On bended knee is no way to be free - Peter R de Vries

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse.....=public_profile_post
Private Message
Reply: 20 - 53
Ipswin
March 31, 2011, 8:28pm
Vodka Drinker
Quoted from pseudonym
Remember being in the boys stand as a kid but hardly used the Barratt Stand. Became a Pontoon Bootboy

'Pontoon Bootboy' - happy memories Terry  

Private Message
Reply: 21 - 53
Ipswin
March 31, 2011, 8:31pm
Vodka Drinker
Quoted from DJ Mera
Cries of 'ARE YOU THERE WOULD'

Older fans will remember that cry.

I remember it as 'Can you hear me Wouldy?' and it was a stocky grey haired old bloke who stood against the fence in the open corner between the Barratt and Osmond. I seem to remember he collapsed and died there.

Private Message
Reply: 22 - 53
TheRonRaffertyFanClub
March 31, 2011, 8:38pm
Special Brew Drinker
Posts Per Day: 1.34
Rep Score: +43 / -11
Approval: +8,658
Gold Stars: 23
Quoted from Ipswin

I remember it as 'Can you hear me Wouldy?' and it was a stocky grey haired old bloke who stood against the fence in the open corner between the Barratt and Osmond. I seem to remember he collapsed and died there.