Print Topic - Archive

Fishy Forum  /  Archive  /  
Posted by: Les Brechin, July 10, 2021, 8:55am
Sad news that Paul Mariner has died aged just 68.

RIP Paul.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/former-ipswich-and-england-striker-paul-mariner-dies-aged-68/ar-AALZwo6
Posted by: Sandford1981, July 10, 2021, 9:39am; Reply: 1
Yet another person lost far too soon to that odious disease!
Sad news indeed.

RIP Paul ๐Ÿ˜ž
Posted by: Les Brechin, July 10, 2021, 9:42am; Reply: 2
Quoted from Sandford1981
Yet another person lost far too soon to that odious disease!
Sad news indeed.

RIP Paul ๐Ÿ˜ž

Indeed, when I first saw the news, I didn't realise that it was brain cancer that had taken him.
Posted by: 800 (Guest), July 10, 2021, 9:43am; Reply: 3
Quoted from Les Brechin

That is really sad. I was fortunate enough to see him playing in the great Ipswich Town side of the early 80s where there were some fantastic European nights. I was a student in Colchester and Paul was seen out in the town sometimes.

What a player. The first Ipswich game I saw was against Manchester United and they had several players on him having lost 6 0 there the season before.

I always felt privileged to have been able to watch them at Portman Road at that time. RIP Paul and thanks for the memories.
Posted by: promotion plaice, July 10, 2021, 9:49am; Reply: 4

Went to Ipswich in the early eighties when we lost 2-0 in the FA Cup, honestly can't remember if he played that day, my memory isn't what it used to be.

RIP
Posted by: HertsGTFC, July 10, 2021, 9:58am; Reply: 5
Quoted from promotion plaice

Went to Ipswich in the early eighties when we lost 2-0 in the FA Cup, honestly can't remember if he played that day, my memory isn't what it used to be.

RIP

He did, if I recall right he was the player who got fouled for the free kick when I think it was Thyson who struck it bang on past Batchy.

A player I really liked and clearly these days thatโ€™s no age, very sad.