Print Topic - Archive

Fishy Forum  /  Non Football  /  
Posted by: Yoda, December 11, 2020, 4:48pm
i am no legal expert but can you be thrown out the ground for booing taking the knee.
At Norwich last night a fan was ejected for booing the blm protest, under freedom of laws you are allowed to express an opinion section 10  believe.
Booing is not racist it won’t be in the club rules as being banned in the ground.
Legally i think any club is on thin ice with this one.
Posted by: bax, December 11, 2020, 4:56pm; Reply: 1
If you are on private property the owner of that property can remove you for any reason it deems fit enough to do so.
Posted by: lew chaterleys lover, December 11, 2020, 5:01pm; Reply: 2
Quoted from Yoda
i am no legal expert but can you be thrown out the ground for booing taking the knee.
At Norwich last night a fan was ejected for booing the blm protest, under freedom of laws you are allowed to express an opinion section 10  believe.
Booing is not racist it won’t be in the club rules as being banned in the ground.
Legally i think any club is on thin ice with this one.

Thin ice indeed. This is the logical conclusion of players doing something as daft as taking the knee. Your own supporters at risk of being thrown out of the stadium because they don't believe in it. It is getting more and more like big brother - what you are and are not allowed to do.

I suppose more and more fans won't bother going back if players insist on taking the knee as time goes on.  
Posted by: friskneymariner, December 11, 2020, 5:13pm; Reply: 3
Article 10 of the Human Rights   grants freedom of expression. This is incorporated into the Human Rights Act.All legislation in this country has to be Human Rights Act Compliant.
Booing could constitute behaviour likely to cause a breach of he peace.However although I am not up-to-date I  am not aware of existing case law which would set a precedent to establish an authority .